Quotes from Revolver

Posted: October 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

Freedom

Denial.  I can’t be dying.  This must be a lie.

 

When you’re winning, who thinks about losing?  But when you’re  faced with what I’m looking at, a new and cold reality dawns.  A fact we like to ignore.  You cannot win.  The only prize they guarantee when you play this game is that you will lose.  It’s only a question of when.

From now on, I’m breaking all the rules.  Because desperate men do desperate things.

 

Maybe I’m being conned.   Maybe I’m being fooled.  They say the sentence has been passed.  The certificate signed.  So what’s the point?  The point is, this is the only option.

 

What did I sign up for?  I try to make sense out of it.  Not now.  Because it doesn’t make sense.  And my brain has only gotten me into trouble anyway.

Why  are they dragging this on?  Just clean me out.  They want me to suffer.  They’re making me pay for my own pain.  They found my weakness, and now they’re exploiting it.  I’m stuck in a trance.  Somewhere between hell and a hard place.  All I want now is a little fucking peace.

The con

The more sophisticated the game, the more sophisticated the conman.

The victim does all the hard work, you just help him along.  Feed the pieces to the victim.  The victim takes them because he’s smarter and your dumber.  Place the victim in an environment he can control.  The bigger the environment, the easier to control.  Toss the dog a bone.  Find his weakness.  Give him just a little of what he thinks he wants.  Distract the victim by getting him consumed with his own consumption.

The bigger and older the trick, the easier it is to pull.  He thinks it can’t be that old or big for so many people to have fallen for it.  Eventually, when the conman is questioned or challenged, it means the victim’s investment, and thus his intelligence is questioned.  No one can accept that.  Even to themselves.  The victim will eventually hang himself.  You just help him along.

You will always find a good conman in the very last place you would ever look.

Wake up, Mr. Green.

Wake up, Mr. Green.

There is something about yourself that you don’t know.  Something about yourself you will deny even exists, until it’s too late to do anything about it.  It’s the only reason you get up in the morning.  The only reason you suffer the blood, sweat, and tears.  It’s because you want people to know how good, attractive, generous, funny, wild, and clever you really are.  Fear, revere me.  But please , think I’m  special!

We share an addiction.  We’re approval junkies.  We’re all in it for the slap on the back and the gold watch.  The hip-hip-hoorah.  Look at the clever boy with the badge, polishing his trophy.  Shine on you crazy diamond.  We’re all just monkeys wrapped up in suits begging for the approval of others.

If we knew this, we wouldn’t do this.  Someone is hiding this from us.  And if you has a second chance, you would ask, “Why?”

Is it me that’s playing head games with you?  You’ve heard the voice in your head for so long, you believe it to be you.  You believe it to be your best friend.  Where’s the best place for a con to hide?  The last place you’d look.  He’s hiding in your head.  Pretending to be you.  You’re in a game.  The game.  Everyone is in it, and nobody knows it.  This is his world.  He owns it. Controls it.  He tells you what to do and when to do it.  You can’t accept it because you’re investment and intelligence are in question.  He’s behind all the pain there ever was.  Now he’s telling you he doesn’t even exists.  We just put you to war with the only enemy that has ever existed.  But you think he’s you’re best friend.  And you protect your best friend.

You know what’s so elegant about this little game?  Nobody knows where the enemy is.  They don’t even know he exists.  He’s in their heads. They trust him because they think they are him.

The more power you think you have in this world the less power you have in the real world.  You are still in prison.  In fact, you never left.

The best place to hide.  The last place you’d look.  Behind your pain.  Embrace the pain, and you will win this game.  How radical are you prepared to be, Mr. Green?

Don’t listen to them.  You wanted answers and they gave you riddles.

He’s got all the tricks and all the right answers

Don’t let them do this to you.  Don’t let them turn you against you

Don’t give because it’s good.  Give because it hurts him.

Use your perceived  enemy to destroy your real enemy. Where you don’t want to go is where you will find him.  What is it that you’re afraid of Mr. Green?

 

We’ve got to get out of here.  We’ve got to get out of here!

“I can hear you.”

What?

“I can hear you.”

Do you know life without me?  Do you know life without me!  No!  Because it doesn’t exist.  You wanna get rid of me?  You wanna get rid of me?  You can’t win without me.  I am you!

“You ain’t me.  You don’t control me.  I control you.”

We were always going to take you with us.  You just weren’t ready to hear how hard that was going to be.

Leave a Reply

